Mid-Atlantic Popular &
American Culture Association

User menu

Skip to menu

Ralph Donald Award

The Ralph Donald Award recognizes an outstanding paper and presentation delivered at MAPACA’s annual conference. This award is named in honor of Ralph Donald. Award recipients receive recognition and complimentary registration to the following year’s conference.

Anyone presenting a paper or presentation at the current year’s conference is eligible for award nomination. Nominations must progress through an Area Chair and be submitted, by an Area Chair, to the Vice President of Awards at

Submitted papers must be a publication ready exact duplicate of the paper read at the conference (i.e. no longer than 10 pages, double-­spaced, 12 ­point font). Submitted presentations must additionally include a summary narrative that explicates the presentation. The deadline for submissions is December 1st.

Donald Award Winners:

  • 2023: Jessica Hautsch, “Casting the Self into Fictional Worlds through Online Personality Quizzes”
  • 2022: Brittany Tomin, “Destructive Imaginaries: Catalyzing Critical Hope in Youth”
  • 2021: Lily Corwin, “Womenfolk: Feminist Reimaginings of Traditional Folk Songs”
  • 2019: Amy DeWitt and Heidi Hanrahan, “The Asylum is Waiting for you: Analyzing Trans Allegheny Lunatic Asylum’s ‘Criminally Insane’ Tour”
  • 2018: Kate Koppy, “Old Wine in New Wineskins: Fairy Tale Pastiche on Film”
  • 2017: Delores Phillips, “The Struggle at the Intersection”
  • 2016: Meredith Mowder, “Art After Dark: The Rise of Night Club Performances in Downtown New York 1978-1988”
  • 2015: Jess McCall, “One Man, One Bullet: Mad Max Feminist Road”

Back to top