Mid-Atlantic Popular &
American Culture Association

User menu

Skip to menu

You are here

Samuel R. Delany

We are pleased to announce our 2024 winner of the Divine Impact Award, Samuel R. Delany.

In 2016, Samuel R. Delany was inducted into the New York State Writers Hall of Fame. He is the author of Babel-17, The Einstein Intersection, Nova, Dhalgren, Dark Reflections, Atlantis: Three Tales, the Return to Nevèrÿon series, an autobiography, The Motion of Light in Water, and the paired essays Times Square Red / Times Square Blue. Dark Reflections won the Stonewall Book Award for 2008, and in 2015 he won the Nicolas Guillén Award for Philosophical Literature, in 1993 the Bill Whitehead Award, in 1997 the Kessler Award for LGBTQ Studies, and in 2021 the Anisfield-Wolf Award and the Sir Arthur Clarke Award. As well, he has won Nebula Awards from the Science Fiction Writers of America, and two Hugo Awards from the World Science Fiction Convention. Filmmaker, novelist, critic, in 2013, he was made a Grand Master of Science Fiction, following in the steps of Asimov, Heinlein, and Le Guin. As e-books, paperbacks, or audiobooks, his works are available through his website at:

The Divine Impact Award recognizes outstanding creative or scholarly achievement in the production, performance, or scholarly consideration of popular culture that exhibits exceptional contribution, longevity, originality, and impact. Past years’ recipients are director John Waters, radio host Terry Gross, music promoter Randy Ellis, chef Jose Garces, Rabia Chaudry, Matthew Buchholz, and Angelo Cataldi.

The award will be presented on Friday evening. A reception will follow.

This event is open to MAPACA conference attendees only.

Photo Samuel R. Delany

2024 Conference

The deadline for abstract submissions was July 7, 2024.

Back to top